People | Business

Sennheiser Sound Academy Announces Three Upcoming Live Panel Discussions & Several Webinars

Roundtable topics include streaming, immersive audio and how a crew works as a unit in the execution of a major tour; most webinars will focus on RF/wireless.
Sennheiser Wireless

The Sennheiser Sound Academy #DontStopTheEducation initiative will be presenting three live roundtable discussions starting next week on topics that include streaming, immersive audio and how a crew works as a unit in the execution of a major tour. The company will also be presenting several webinars, most of them focused on RF/wireless. Here’s the roster:

Roundtable Discussion: Independent Artists — Streaming & More
Tuesday, May 26, 17:00 Berlin time (16:00 London, 11:00 New York, 15:00 UTC)
Sennheiser hosts Andy Egerton and Tim Moore will be joined by Tom Wurth, Katie Cole, Jess Guise and Frank Turner to discuss how independent artists produce and market their music. The panelists will also be answering questions from the audience. Register here.

The panelists in the Independent Artists Roundtable: Jess Guise, Frank Turner, Katie Cole and Tom Wurth

Jessica Guise is the voice of folk-pop quartet Guise, and she’s also the owner of Whatever Guise Productions and producer of “Gin for Breakfast” in London’s West End.

Frank Turner is a UK solo musician who is accompanied by his backing band The Sleeping Souls in the studio and during live performances. His latest album, “No Man’s Land” is his fourth consecutive UK Top Three album release. The concept album was accompanied by a 13-part podcast entitled “Tales from No Man’s Land” which debuted at number 2 on the UK charts.

Nashville-resident Katie Cole is a musician in The Smashing Pumpkins as well as an independent Americana artist who releases label-competitive audio, video and content.

Tom Wurth is a Grammy-nominated vocalist, songwriter, touring artist and musician based in Nashville who has developed his own path for quality audio, video and marketing of his music and that of other artists.

Roundtable Discussion: Immersive Audio Discussion
May 27, 17:00 Berlin time (16:00 London, 11:00 New York, 15:00 UTC)
Brian Glasscock of the Sennheiser AMBEO Immersive Audio team will welcome Andrés Mayo and Martín Muscatello for the first in a regular series of presentations and discussions with leading immersive audio practitioners. Register here.

Andrés Mayo (pictured) and Martín Muscatello will speak about their immersive Album #1
Andrés Mayo (pictured) and Martín Muscatello will speak about their immersive Album #1.

Andrés Mayo, former president of the AES, is an audio engineer and music producer who has focused on mastering since 1992. He has credits in more than 3,000 albums released in vinyl, CD, DVD, Blu-Ray, streaming and 360-degree audio formats, and has won two Grammy Awards and seven Gardel Awards for Technical Excellence. He also runs his own company – Andrés Mayo Mastering & Audio Post – and is the founder of @360MusicLab, a company devoted to the production of immersive audio.

Martín Muscatello is a music producer based in Buenos Aires. After graduating from EMBA, he joined the staff of El Pie Recording Studios, where he earned credits on a large number of albums. Today, he runs his own production facility in “El Mejor” studio, and is part of 360MusicLab, developing and researching immersive audio and producing 360 audio content. Also, he is a professor in the Escuela de Música de Buenos Aires (Buenos Aires Music School) in the Music Production 2 and Mix 3 academic areas.

Roundtable: Crew Call – Blake Shelton
June 2, 17:00 Berlin time (16:00 London, 11:00 New York, 15:00 UTC)
Sennheiser hosts Tim Moore and Andy Egerton welcome members of country artist Blake Shelton’s team. The guests will include members of the band, the audio team, and other production staff who will discuss how a crew works as a unit to approach audio, wireless, planning and the execution of a major tour. Register here.

Read More
Tuesday On Practical Show Tech: Preparing For The Aftermath Of COVID-19
Panelists in the Crew Call: Brad Baisley, Jeff Parsons, Jason Herndon, Ed Hardin and Tracy Broussard (from left to right).

Joining this discussion are Brad Baisley (monitor engineer), Tracy Broussard (drummer), Jeff Parsons (FOH), Ed Hardin (drum tech) and Jason Herndon (guitar tech), and they will also be answering questions from the audience.

Webinar: Planning & Executing A Big Live TV Event
May 28, various times
Volker Schmitt of Sennheiser will describe how to plan and execute a major live TV event. Using the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest as an example, Volker will talk about the importance of planning and system redundancy as a key element and answer any audience questions. This webinar is offered at three different times:

8:30 am Berlin / 2:30 am New York, Register here
1:30 pm Berlin / 7:30 am New York. Register here
6 pm Berlin / 12 pm New York. Register here

Webinar: Antenna System Design
June 3, 2020, various times
Jonas Naesby of Sennheiser will share best practice examples of designing antenna systems. He will also explain how to calculate gain structures and how to extend coverage by setting up additional antenna zones.
This webinar is offered at three different times:

8:30 am Berlin / 2:30 am New York. Register here
1:30 pm Berlin / 7:30 am New York. Register here
6 pm Berlin / 12 pm New York. Register here

Webinar: Fundamentals Of Wireless Mics
June 4 and 5, various times
In this two-hour webinar, RF professional Andrew Kornstein will provide a deep dive into wireless microphone technology, including the theory and physics behind the electromagnetic spectrum and how it applies to day-to-day operation of wireless microphones. He will also discuss many practical ways to effectively plan and deploy wireless systems, maximize the channel count and ensure optimum operational stability even in the most challenging RF environments. This webinar is offered at three different times:

June 4, 4 pm Berlin / 10 am New York. Register here
June 4, 8 pm Berlin / 2 pm New York. Register here
June 5, 1:30 am Berlin / 7:30 am New York. Register here

Webinar: IEM System Optimization
June 8, various times
Jonas Naesby of Sennheiser will show how to set up multi-channel IEM systems and do live walk tests for webinar participants to demonstrate how adjusting a few simple settings will significantly improve sound quality and coverage. This webinar is offered at three different times:

8:30 am Berlin / 2:30 am New York. Register here
1:30 pm Berlin / 7:30 am New York. Register here
6 pm Berlin / 12 pm New York. Register here

Sennheiser